How To Play The Five Nights At Freddy’s Games In Order

Disclaimer: If you click a PHASR link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you, we may receive a commission.

How To Play The FNAF Games In Order

Five Nights At Freddy’s Games In Order

Five Nights At Freddy’s is an indie horror game franchise that changed the face of survival horror forever. This series showed that you can have deep lore through the use of cryptic clues. The games’ mechanics also shake up the paranoid and claustrophobic standards previous games have set for the survival horror genre.

For the uninitiated, Five Nights At Freddy’s takes place in a series of Chuck E. Cheese-style restaurants. However, the creator of the animatronic mascots has dark plans, which lead to the many mysteries of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza.

Today, I want to go over the order of the Five Nights At Freddy’s games series. I am going to avoid overall spoilers for the lore and story, just in case you want to play these games for yourself.

RELATED: 10 Great Gifts For FNAF Fans In Your Life (On Amazon)

Five Nights At Freddy’s

The game that started it all. The original Five Nights At Freddy’s is basic when compared to later titles in the series. However, it struck fear into anyone who played it at the time.

In the first Five Nights At Freddy’s, you play the role of a security guard at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza. While the job seems easy enough, things start to get dangerous as the animatronic band begins to move around on their own.

You must survive until 6 AM by not letting the animatronics get into your security office. You must not be caught by Freddy Fazbear, Bonnie The Bunnie, Chica The Chicken, or Foxy The Pirate Fox.

Five Nights At Freddy’s 2

Five Nights At Freddy’s 2 takes place in a different location than the first game. This location is home to what is known as the Toy Animatronics. They are cuter and shinier, but still deadly. Over by the prize corner, there is a new animatronic known as The Puppet.

From a gameplay standpoint, Five Nights At Freddy’s 2 is similar to the first game. However, there are no doors in the office. You must let the animatronics enter the office. Your only safeguard is a flashlight and a Freddy Fazbear mask.

Five Nights At Freddy’s 3

Years after the events of the first two games, a new horror attraction opens based on the events at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza called Fazbear Frights.

Once again, you are a security guard at the attraction. While the attraction seems innocent enough, things start getting dangerous when the owners find one of the original animatronics.

RELATED: The Lore Of Phone Dude From Five Nights At Freddy’s Explained

Five Nights At Freddy’s 4

Five Nights At Freddy’s 4 turns the series’ mechanics on its head. Instead of being a night security guard, you play as a child in their bedroom. Much like the other games, the animatronics come to the door looking for you.

However, this time you must listen at the door to see if the animatronic is there. This attention to audio cues is why many people believe that Five Nights At Freddy’s 4 is the scariest game in the series.

In between levels, there are also minigames that tell the story of a child that is afraid of the Freddy’s animatronics. This is simultaneously one of the most revealing and cryptic entries in the series.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Sister Location

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Sister Location is the first game in the series to deviate from the ‘sitting in the office’ gameplay mechanics. That said, the game is still very linear. The levels almost feel like minigames.

You play as Michael Afton, the son of the man who made these killer robots. Michael heads into his father’s underground lair in search of his sister.

RELATED: The Afton Family Explained – A Bona Fide Chaotic Bloodline

FNAF World

FNAF World is a bit of a joke game. It is very humorous, and the characters are very cute looking. This game is different than the rest of the series. It plays more like a turn-based RPG than a survival horror.

While this is the silly game in the series, it doesn’t mean that it is lacking classic Five Nights At Freddy’s mysteries. FNAF World tells a very complex and meta tale within its narrative.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Pizzeria Simulator

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Pizzeria Simulator continues the FNAF storyline while adding new gameplay concepts. At the beginning of each day, you get to design your pizzeria complete with animatronics, games, and decorations.

At night, you must fend off the animatronics as you do your end-of-the-day work in the office. Also, there are some familiar evil faces that have been showing up in the back alley of the restaurant.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Ultimate Custom Night

Ultimate Custom Night brings the FNAF series back to its office-loving roots. In this game, you can play against all of the characters in the series. Each character can be turned on and off, and has twenty levels of difficulty.

While this game boasts being an ultimate custom mode for the franchise, there are still some fun mysteries to be had. When you lose (and you will), the character who killed you delivers a voice line. These quotes help us delve deeper into the mysterious past of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Help Wanted

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Help Wanted is a bit of a reboot of the series. This game is also a great jumping-in point for new players. Help Wanted contains minigames that mimic the other titles in the series. There are also other new minigames that add to the gameplay and story.

You play as a beta tester for a new video game made by Fazbear Entertainment. However, the mysteries of the past have made their way into the digital realm. In the world of Five Nights At Freddy’s, you are never truly safe.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Special Delivery

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Special Delivery is the series’ first mobile game (not including the mobile ports of the old games). This title uses augmented reality technology similar to games like Pokemon Go. This time around, the animatronics come to your house and you must fight them off.

Fazbear Entertainment has a new program that allows animatronics to be sent to your house. No longer will you have to plan your birthday parties around their brick-and-mortar locations. However, things aren’t exactly as they seem.

Five Nights At Freddy’s: Security Breach

Security Breach is the newest game in the Five Nights At Freddy’s series. It is also the first free-roaming game in the franchise.

Gregory is trapped overnight in Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza Plex. He must survive until the morning when the security doors open. However, his survival is dependent on uncovering some of Fazbear Entertainment’s sinister plans.

RELATED: The Animatronics Of FNAF Security Breach Explained

What Are Your Favorite Five Nights At Freddy’s Games?

We hope you enjoyed our breakdown of the order of the Five Nights At Freddy’s games. Which game is your favorite in the series? Let us know on social media!

Make The Other Emails In Your Inbox Jealous.

Get The Best Of PHASR Delivered Weekly

The Perfect Shirt For All Your Special Stains.


Get The Best of PHASR Directly To Your Inbox!

When you sign up for the PHASR newsletter,
you are automatically entered to
win free PHASR merch.